Hong Kong University Analytics

Find out your university ranking and what are the best & worst courses in your school

Explore

Latest Course Reviews


312
97
60

CUHK

UGFH1000 In Dialogue With Humanity

Shared by Anonymous

3 days ago

Professor: Sabrina Yeung

我有時會走自己Major 0既堂, 但FH 的tuto 就一堂都冇走過。每個sem 我都有一兩個course 係覺得學到野的,FH 就係今個學期我覺得學到野的科。 班上的同學人數很少,我一開始以為係伏,但人數少反而同學的討論和互動更多。Miss講解清晰,同埋我最鍾意佢引導我地去思考問題。讀左差不多一年書,我覺得依個科係一個想我學如何去思考的科,馬克思講過咩細緻0既我已經唔記得左,但我記得Miss如何透過跟Adam Smith比較,帶我們思考自己的part time 工作經驗,再引到我們當下的社會問題。Miss是一個有心教書,有心想同學思考多D 0既Miss,而唔係讀ppt或者跟書照教。我做0既功課,有一份跟Miss課堂上講的觀點立場唔同,但Miss就讚我推論過程好仔細,俾左滿分我。我好開心。因為D friends成日話我亂諗野,但依個Miss教我點樣一步一步將自己諗0既野鋪排出來,點樣砌個flow,我學到最多就係依樣野。

See Full Review
13
2
1

CUHK

KORE1000 Korean I

Shared by Anonymous

6 days ago

Professor: Yun Jong Sook

super cute and nice teacher, quite lenient to marks. many speaking practices in class.

See Full Review
11
7
1

CUHK

MGNT1010 Introduction to Business

Shared by Anonymous

6 days ago

Professor: Jimmy Chiu

funny and nice professor. coursework and test not difficult. must reg!!!

See Full Review
49
26
4

CUHK

DSME1040 Economics for Business Studies II

Shared by Anonymous

6 days ago

Professor: Fu Rao

poor english accent, hard to listen. boring lesson. homework all mc. difficult final exam.

See Full Review
9
4
1

CUHK

CLCP2703 Intermediate Putonghua

Shared by Anonymous

6 days ago

Professor: Mr. Li Chunpu

很多課前課後的功課,mc和speaking. 普通話說得標準的可以take這個course. 會考核朗讀課文和情景說話

See Full Review
175
111
40

CUHK

DSME1030 Economics for Business Studies I

Shared by Anonymous

6 days ago

Professor: Fung Ka Yiu

not too killer, pay more attention in class and answer questions. difficulty of quiz is ok, will print out ppt for students every lesson. but teaching style is a bit boring. don't be scared of his black face

See Full Review
0
0
2

CUHK

UGEC2632 Media, Sex and Violence

Shared by Anonymous

2019-04-08

Professor: TAM Wai Wan Vivian

只以教學方式、教學態度、熱誠的話,其實非常好,
而且你若有問題,會願意解答你的問題

但教學內容真的帶有成見
尤其是final project,雖然記者同學論點確有問題,但譚導師的評價同樣有偏見問題
而且final project需要「popular」的media, 是在譚導師的認知及傳播系同學的前提下,
因此「電腦/手機遊戲」在導師及該系同學眼中屬於小眾文化,即使解釋這是全球流行也是不果,導師過於堅持己見
例如導師覺得「翠絲」香港藝術電影是大眾,不過GTA5 / hitman / LOL這種全球熱門遊戲 (收入超越荷里活大片),在她們眼中卻是小眾媒體,甚至沒聽過,所以是小眾。
譚導師始終是一名記者,嘴上說要邏輯,但實際言行評分一點都沒有,
而且有成見: Q&A不停問 (最多3題, 但她問了6~7題),UG的同學一直完美解答,甚至能夠即場分析該問題,
但最後導師以「有玩遊戲」和「沒玩遊戲」的人是不能溝通,同學態度有點自大,轉移視線,終止Q&A
可見導師自尊心過高,被完美解答卻又不認同別人,不甘心被說服
最重要是她們相信真人訪問2~3個人,多於網上實際數據,邏輯在哪 ???
所以極不建議理科、理性邏輯思維的同學修讀。這是一個小圈子的course。
但文科學生應該沒有什麼問題。

利申: 現場聽該同學和導師的「學術討論」 理科UG學生
聽到個位同學串到個導師應都應唔到,仲要串埋自稱gamer嘅旁聽生冇得駁,講野勁有邏輯又清晰,有point有例子,真心勁,
可惜串得太勁可能低分 可惜

See Full Review
3
1
3

CUHK

ARCH1002 Understanding Cities

Shared by Anonymous

2019-04-08

Professor: Forgot

Never been to class

See Full Review
14
8
9

HKU

MATH1013 University Mathematics Ii

Shared by Anonymous

2019-04-05

Professor: WONG CHI WING

on9, powerpoint is useless. do more exercise

See Full Review
33
14
16

CUHK

ELTU1001 Foundation English for University Studies

Shared by Anonymous

2019-03-31

Professor: Kitty Szeto

kitty好nice!

See Full Review

1
3
1

HKU

CCHU9010 Being Different: Understanding People with Disabilities

Shared by Anonymous

2019-03-19

Professor: Sandra Tsang...

CANNOT SKIP LECTURE. They have surprise quizzes... Field trip during reading week

See Full Review
3
3
0

HKU

CCCH9014 Social Development Challenges in China

Shared by Anonymous

2019-03-19

Professor: Dr L.P. Jordan

There will be videos in class so it's not that boring

See Full Review
7
6
1

HKU

SOCI1001 Introduction to Sociology

Shared by Anonymous

2019-03-19

Professor: Carmen Tong

Can skip the lectures (but don't skip because they're quite fun

See Full Review
2
0
3

HKU

ENGL1031 English grammar(s)

Shared by Anonymous

2019-03-19

Professor: May Wong

You need to take notes in class to get a good grade, but it's quite fun I think, and the lecturer is nice :)

See Full Review
9
4
1

CUHK

CLCP2703 Intermediate Putonghua

Shared by yauhonchiu

2019-03-15

Professor: Wong ho put

focus on grade dude

See Full Review
348
133
47

CUHK

UGFN1000 In Dialogue With Nature

Shared by yauhonchiu

2019-03-15

Professor: WU JUN

focus on grade bro

See Full Review
175
111
40

CUHK

DSME1030 Economics for Business Studies I

Shared by yauhonchiu

2019-03-15

Professor: Jaimie

exam is easy so no need to attend lecture but revise the ppt.

See Full Review
13
3
4

CUHK

MATH1020 General Mathematics

Shared by Anonymous

2019-03-13

Professor: Dr. LIU Chun Lung Kelvin

操多啲

See Full Review
312
97
60

CUHK

UGFH1000 In Dialogue With Humanity

Shared by Anonymous

2019-03-04

Professor: Yeung Choi Kit

very nice teacher! I sent her my first draft of reflective journal and she gave me lots of comments, with a long email, more than 600 or 700 words. I amended my essay according to her comments, then I got an A. Her teaching is very clear and concise. My friend and I like her too.

See Full Review
312
97
60

CUHK

UGFH1000 In Dialogue With Humanity

Shared by Anonymous

2019-03-04

Professor: Yeung Choi Kit

老師教書有heart,她說自己今年是第一年教,觀點未必很深入,但看得出她有準備很多東西,改功課也很用心。她教書很清晰,會先跟學生說自己的思考脈絡是甚麼,然後跟著教。有時也會先問學生有甚麼想討論,然後她會預備。例如古蘭經那課就是這樣,她把我們感興趣的兩條題目加上她想討論的一條題目組合成一個flow給我們討論。原本對伊斯蘭教除左新聞上做恐怖份子外都沒有認識,上完堂後知多左伊斯蘭教係咩野。

See Full Review

25
9
2

CUHK

FINA3080 Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management

Shared by Anonymous

2019-03-04

Professor: CAO Jie

REALLY disappointed. No midterm preparation, no assignment solution provided, not provided anything about the test. Just give a review sheet which is super simple. Not recommended.

See Full Review
1
0
0

PolyU

LSGI2294 COMPUTER AIDED DRAFTING AND PROCESSING FOR GEOMATICS

Shared by Anonymous

2019-02-02

Professor: WANG, Shuo S

it's quite interesting!

See Full Review
3
5
4

HKU

CCGL9025 The Political Economy Of Poverty & Growth

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-26

Professor: Prof. Y.C. Richard WONG

There are loads of reading materials for you to prepare, approximately 40 to 50 passages. Although there is not much assessment, that amount of readings and term paper together with the essay-based exam are killing you. Fortunately, the exam questions are very similar between years, you can choose to focus on a few of them and pick 3 out of 5 questions to answer. If you are very interested in and confident with economics, go for it. Otherwise, just pick another common core course will be the way.

See Full Review
4
4
1

HKU

BIOL1201 Introduction To Food And Nutrition

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-25

Professor: /

The course content is easy but it's not effortless to get an outstanding grade.

See Full Review
14
19
6

HKU

BIOL1110 From Molecules To Cell

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-25

Professor: Dr C S C Lo Dr J W Zhang Dr K W Y Yuen Prof B K C Chow

Memorize all details of the lecture notes. The first module is the most difficult.

See Full Review
1
0
0

HKU

LCOM1003 Theorizing In Communication

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-25

Professor: Dr Adrian Pablé

The course workload is very low-just one essay and a final test. Start preparing your mid-term essay early and do some research in advance. Revise after every lecture to clear up the concepts. Study for the test and your grade will be decent :)

See Full Review
2
7
7

HKU

SCNC1111 Scientific Method And Reasoning

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-25

Professor: William, Eddy, Rachel

There are practice sessions for calculus, attend them if you haven't studied M1/M2 before. Learn through youtube videos helps too.

See Full Review
13
2
1

HKU

JAPN1088 Japanese Language I (Part 1)

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-25

Professor: Sasaki Sensei

***[IMPORTANT]*** The course will have >50% student who already know japanese like myself. I didn't revise and still get A because I was at the level that is able to communicate with native without any formal study. Listen, if you have NO or very little(what I mean by little is you only understand < 20% when a native is speaking) experience on japanese, you are KILLING yourself by taking this course. A lot of people with experience will accelerate the pace of the lecture so that you need to study really hard to catch up. But if you are experienced, welcome. You will enjoy the course. This is the case for Korean courses as well

See Full Review
1
1
0

HKU

MEDE2201 Signals and Linear Systems

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-25

Professor: Huang Kaibin

all lecture. Check for youtube videos if you dont understand

See Full Review
17
9
6

CUHK

ELTU1002 English Communication for University Studies

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-22

Professor: Lani Freeborn

Very nice.

See Full Review

4
2
0

CUHK

PHED1041 Badminton (Men)

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-21

Professor: Ng Chun Hung

highly recommended for people who want to learn badminton effectively, he teaches very well with passion and professional attitude

See Full Review
12
9
6

CUHK

MATH1520 University Mathematics for Applications

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-21

Professor: Lily PAN

talks too quick, this course is very chur and poorly designed, exam is very hard, not recommended for students without M1/M2

See Full Review
1
3
0

CUHK

ENGG2020 Digital Logic and Systems

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-21

Professor: Yu Y. K.

You will gain a lot if you can teach yourself and find out all the mistakes in the slides by him. You will even gain more if you can master all in the text book and then go to the lecture and test yourself by checking out all the mistakes. And you can be a master in the course if you can make as many mistakes as him. (All above are really just jokes, do not believe that : ) ) Anyway, have a good dream at the course.

See Full Review
76
59
26

HKU

ACCT1011 Introductory To Accounting

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-17

Professor: forgot

didnt go lecture

See Full Review
3
0
0

CUHK

JASP3340 Japanese Improvement Strategies- Vocabularies, Grammar, Listening and Reading

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-17

Professor: Choi Wing sum

Miss Choi好好人 好有心教 。堂常印唔同顏色notes 準備左好多自習題目。做到唔識 隨時可以落堂問。 教文法個陣d example 好生活化 會講日本人平時會係咩情況講呢句句式。

See Full Review
4
2
0

HKU

CCST9020 Sustainable Development of the Built Environment

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-16

Professor: Prof Mak, Prof Wai Pan, Prof Kan

boring but not bad

See Full Review
3
1
0

HKU

CCCH9020 Science And Technology: Lessons From China

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-16

Professor: Prof William Cheung and 2 others

Not bad. Professors sometimes give out snacks during class. Lectures and tutorials are quite boring

See Full Review
0
0
1

HKU

ENGL2079 Shakespeare

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-16

Professor: Blumberg Frederick Laurence

The lecturer is incapable of teaching a class at all. His lectures do not have a focus; he merely rambles on and on, pretending to conduct a Socratic discussion by inviting students to comment, when in reality he is unprepared and does not know what he is teaching. His manners are unnerving and borderline creepy, making queer remarks over and over again.

See Full Review
5
1
4

CUHK

NURS1151 Development Of Nursing

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-15

Professor: Winnie Tang

no good

See Full Review
17
9
6

CUHK

ELTU1002 English Communication for University Studies

Shared by Anonymous

2019-01-15

Professor: Richard Goss

good, just add more reference in final essay and follow his instructions in every task, and do not attempt plagiarism

See Full Review